Meat Puppets

The Meat Puppets

The Meat Puppets formed on January 1980 in Tempe, AZ shortly after the three founding members (Curt Kirkwood, Cris Kirkwood, & Derrick Bostrom) met at a prep High School in Phoenix.

In 1982, the band signed on to the legendary punk label, SST Records and released their first self titled album. They went on to release 7 more records with them before leaving in 1991 to sign a major label contract with London Records. It was there where they began to find major success, beginning in 1993 with an MTV Unplugged appearance with Nirvana and later with the release of ‘Too High to Die’ which was a certified a gold record. 

Fast forward to 2021, and the band continues to record and tour feverishly. Over the years, they’ve ebbed and flowed with different lineups but in 2018 they added guitarist Elmo Kirkwood (son of Curt Kirkwood) and keyboardist  Ron Stabinsky to the mix.